top of page

Trish Stratus Receives Lou Thesz Award

Trish Stratus is the first woman to win the Lou Thesz Award on July 23 at the Dan Gable Museum in Waterloo, IA. The Lou Thesz award honors wrestlers who serve the public. Trish is recognizing at the NPWHF despite not being a “formal” member.

The George Tragos/Lou Thesz Professional Wrestling Hall of Fame has seldom honored women wrestlers over the years. In 2019, Beth Phoenix became the first woman to be inducted into the Hall of Fame. Beth won the 2015 Frank Gotch award for promoting wrestling outside of the sport.

Trish Stratus could be inducted into the National Professional Wrestling Hall of Fame with the Lou Thesz Award. Booker T, Edge, and Larry “The Axe” Hennig are past Lou Thesz award winners.

Before her induction, Trish went to the Dan Gable Museum. Before the induction and meet-and-greet, Status grinned for social media images. She invited fans to pick her outfit. Trish thanked the museum by saying, “I’d rather destroy glass ceilings than wear glass shoes.”

Stratus is one of wrestling’s finest women. In 2000, she was a valet and manager without wrestling experience. She worked hard to become the finest wrestler. She trained with Fit Finlay before, after, and on days off. Trish proved she was the best by playing some of the best women’s matches in years.

Even after her retirement, she inspired many women to become professional wrestlers. She continues to compete with elite wrestlers. She and Lita beat Mickie James and Alicia Fox at Evolution. Mickie James and Alexa Bliss were their Raw opponents. 2019 SummerSlam saw her face Charlotte Flair. Since losing to Charlotte Flair, she’s taunting Becky Lynch and Sasha Banks.

Trish Stratus has won several wrestling honors. She’s a seven-time WWE Women’s Champion, a one-time WWE Hardcore Champion, a 2013 WWE Hall of Famer, and WWE’s #1 Greatest Female Wrestler of All Time. Outside of WWE, she won the Iron Mike Mazurki Award in 2016. Although in 2017, she also won the Sandy Hawley Award for Community Service. In 2002, 2003, 2005, and 2006, Pro Wrestling Illustrated named her Woman of the Year.


bottom of page